Learning in the Early Years Foundation Stage

Beginning school is one of the most exciting parts of your child's life. We also understand that it can be a time when families and children can become a little nervous. Please do contact us if you have any questions, we will keep you informed of how your child is getting on and the progress they are making. 

We firmly believe that children should enjoy their education and their learning should not only reflect the standards we teach but also allow them to enjoy a first class childhood. Sometimes it can appear that the children are ‘only playing’whilst in the Foundation Stage.  However, the best Early Years Education is based on the understanding that whilst children are playing, they are learning. During the day there will be a mixture of adult initiated, child initiated and adult led activities as well as whole class, small group and individual activities.

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is based on four themes and seven areas of learning.

These are:


  • The Unique Child
  • Positive Relationships
  • Enabling Environments
  • Learning and Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional development
  • Communication, Language and Literacy
  • Problem Solving, Reasoning and Numeracy
  • Knowledge and Understanding of the World
  • Physical Development
  • Creative Development

Each learning area has a number of stages that children work through. The Early Learning Goals are the end of year assessment in Reception.

Assessment is ongoing throughout the EYFS, but the official EYFS Profile for each child is completed in the final term of Reception. The assessment takes place through teacher observation of children’s learning and development as they take part in everyday activities, and planned observations, where teachers spend time on a specific task with an individual child or small group.

There are three separate achievement levels

  • Expected: your child is working at the level expected for his age
  • Emerging:your child is working below the expected level
  • Exceeding: your child is working above the expected level

Your child’s teacher will award one of these levels for each of the seven EYFS areas of learning.

On leaving the Foundation Stage at the end of Reception, a child is considered to have a ‘good level of development’ if they have achieved at least the expected level in the Early Learning Goals in all aspects of PSE, Physical development, Communication and language, Literacy and Mathematics.

To ensure that EYFS levels are consistent within schools and nationally, the Profile is subject to moderation. This happens both internally, for example with other teachers from , and externally, with the Local Authority taking a sample of a school’s Profiles to moderate. We were last moderated in July 2016.

Click here for the overview of the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

Click here for an overview of the end of year expectations for the Early Years Foundation Stage

Click here for a list of words children should be able to read by the end of the Early Years Foundation Stage